Introduction to colours

Updated: Nov 16, 2020

The basic colour wheel is made up of three primary colours (red, yellow and blue), three secondary colours (orange, green and violet) and six tertiary colours (red-orange, yellow-orange, yellow-green, blue-green, blue-violet and red-violet).

Monochromatic: Monochromatic schemes use variations of the same hue. They’re simple, safe and minimal and can be used to achieve a polished, elegant look.

Analogous: Analogous schemes use colours that sit next to each other on the colour wheel. They’re calming and comfortable, are often found in nature, and create a pleasing, unified feel.

Complimentary:Complimentary schemes use a powerfulcontrast, colours that are opposites on the colour wheel. They’re highly visible.

Triadic: The use of triadic colour scheme benefits from the unity of an analogous colour scheme as well as the vibrancy of a complimentary. They’re created by using three colours evenly spaced throughout the colour wheel.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All